Monday 13 May 2013


The Penny Black Remedy are delighted to announce that they will be releasing their new album, Inhale... Exhale... OK, Now You Can Panic! on Monday 15 July. As a taster for the new album, the song ‘Some People Just Don't Know When To Quit’ is available as a download single from today (Monday 13 May), accompanied by the exclusive non-album B-Side, ‘Miserlou’ (TPBR's unique take on the Dick Dale classic and a staple of their live set).

The band will launch the album with a special show at The Water Rats, London on Thursday 13 June.

With their high octane live sets and unique musical fusion of Americana, Punk, Folk and Ska, The Penny Black Remedy have been thrilling crowds across the UK and the rest of Europe since the band’s inception in London in 2007. Their live performances, as forceful as party political campaign rallies, but unlike those - honest to the core, have seen them build a fiercely loyal following, many of whom happily brave many miles and borders to see them. Songwriter Keith M Thomson’s fine blend of darkly humorous lyrics and joyful life affirming melodies have enticed diverse, international, audiences to fully engage in their distinctively interactive shows by enthusiastically singing-along to every word. Some of these songs can be found on their album, ‘No One’s Fault But Your Own’ (released on their own independent label, Soundinistas, and globally distributed by Cadiz Music).

Thomson says: “The fact that most of my songs are about death, lost love, living in a constant state of crippling paranoid fear and coping with the daily grind of everyday life is irrelevant. Encouraging people to sing loudly and out of tune about the absurdity of general existence seems to instil a sense of comfort and emotional unity....I think.”

Joining Thomson in his colourful and culturally diverse collective are Croatian vocalist Marijana Hajdarhodzic, and Dutch drummer Wilco van Eijk. Keith, Marijana and Wilco were proud to recently welcome UK Subs and Flying Padovanis legend Paul Slack on bass duties. Since last year, TPBR have on occasion been joined on stage by exceedingly energetic and equally charismatic brass section, The Horns of Fury.

The Penny Black Remedy’s highlights so far have included sharing bills with bands such as the Buzzcocks and Fishbone, being voted by the audience in the ‘top 3 best acts’ at Larmer Tree Festival, and playing festival scene few years running (Glastonbury, The Secret Garden Party, Bestival, Larmer Tree), The Guardian’ Robin Denselow stating that the song ‘I Won't Argue When I'm Dead’ is "Quite simply, the finest country sing-along I've heard on the vexed pop topic of how one's body should be disposed of after death”.

“This track [‘You Have Wasted Your Life, Now Please Stop Wasting Your Money’] will become your summer anthem.”  Chris Hawkins, BBC 6Music
“The Penny Black Remedy could well be one of London’s best kept secrets .. but not for much longer.” Clink Magazine
“This band have everything, energy, attitude, contagious lyrics and killer tunes.” Rhythm & Booze
“No One’s Fault But Your Own is an earthshaking cauldron of ska, blues and rock’n’roll”  Musicians Magazine
 “No One’s Fault But Your Own is a storming debut album that includes everything.” Noize Makes Enemies


After being forced into hibernation by the long winter, Lucky Strikes frontman Matthew Boulter emerges with his second album of glorious, gentle, life-affirming songs to take us into Summer. The Water Or The Wave features eleven original songs, conceived on the road at various folk club and festival shows throughout the past year and given life beside the grassy marshland and mudflats of his South Essex home on the Thames Delta.

Ably assisted by engineer Rees Broomfield at The Broom Cupboard Studio in Rayleigh, Matthew recruited various friends and colleagues for the album sessions, including Lucky Strikes compatriots Paul Ambrose and Jim Wilson, Bryony Afferson and Lizzy O’Connor from fast-rising London folk and bluegrass band Troubadour Rose and, by no means least, legendary Dire Straits and Bob Dylan drummer Pick Withers. This impressive cast have helped Matthew create a work of considerable warmth and subtlety.

Releasing his debut album in Spring 2012 under the name The Whispering Pines, Matthew has been an integral member of The Lucky Strikes since 2007, starting out on bass before switching to guitar and vocals, as well as penning much of their material. A highly proficient pedal- and lap-steel player, he’s much sought after on the UK Americana circuit; something that led to him being invited to play with New York songwriter Simone Felice.  Since accompanying Felice on various dates including a prestigious Green Man Festival headline set in 2011,  Matthew has become  a full member of The Simone Felice Band, touring the US and UK, also opening shows as solo performer.  Despite this impressive workload, Matthew has continued to lend his many skills to shows and recordings by the likes of Cusack, Deer Park, Dead flowers, Neil McSweeney, Rosalie Deighton, Conor Oberst and members of Mumford & Sons. On The Water Or The Wave, M G Boulter turns another page…

Praise for The Whispering Pines

“Gorgeous, in a word” **** Uncut
“A dreamlike album of lyrical beauty…. Another very fine addition to a promising portfolio” **** R2
“A pleasant, smoky vibe…. Check him out” **** Maverick
“When you hear an album that reminds you of your childhood and your dreams, the best film you’ve seen all year, your favourite record of all time, and your first love – that has to be a good day” No Depression
“Introspective, gentle, tinged with darkness and a sorrowful undertow, these are elegant songs delivered with restraint and oodles of world-weary charm” FATEA
"Beautiful, engaging, and not quite like anything else out there" Flyinshoes